the wisdom of josh homme.

June 13, 2007

83_joshhomme_l081105.jpgJosh Homme (from Queens of the Stone Age, Kyuss, Desert Sessions, Eagles of Death Metal and other brilliant things) always makes me chuckle when he does interviews…

Pitchfork: When’d you start to play drums?
JH: I’ve been tapping on tables and chairs since I was little. [laughs] I got into guitar because no parent will buy their eight-year-old kid drums, unless they’re divorced and trying to get back at their wife. You know what I mean?

JH: Banks are kinda cool, you put some money in there. It should be kinda vaguely sexy, but it’s not.

His psyeudonym for some recordings has been Carlo Von Sexron (I laugh everytime I read this)

NME (on Eva Vulgaris): “Mentally, it’s the gnarliest Rubix Cube I’ve ever worked on”

KTVU.com: “And with the music industry the way it is with downloading, to ask artists to play for free … I might as well skip through the English countryside with a flute. One of the things about my generation is that there’s this punk rock guilt where people don’t know what they’re worth and they’re embarrassed to ask for anything for what they do. And that’s something that we need to get over. I don’t need to be the Sultan of Brunei, but at the same time, would you get your hand out of my crotchpouch please? Or at least be sexy about it.”

KTVU.com (on playing a Rock Honours show): I wrote ‘G-U-N-T’ on my arm during our performance at ‘Rock Honors’, because it’s an uncensorable word. Censorship isn’t about intent, it’s just about words that we universally agree are bad. Since ‘gunt’ is uncensorable slang, they actually focused in on my arm. A friend of mine was standing right behind Sharon and she said “Gunt? What the hell is that supposed to be?” I heard that and thought “My work for the day is done.”

Recoil Mag (on the band’s biography that goes out to journalists in advance): “That bio was written by Black Jesus of The Dwarves, and I think he’s bitter because they never asked him to be on the Warped Tour. We just told him, ‘Would you please write a bunch of lies and inflammatory bullshit about us in our bio just to make it more entertaining?’ And he obliged. And to be honest, he read it to me over the phone once, but I’ve never read it myself.”

I really wanted to collate more of these, because I love the guy’s wit, but time (and lunchbreak) is up…

Have a free song, a bonus track from the sessions for Era Vulgaris. A cover of the classic Billy Idol song…

Queens of the Stone Age; White Wedding

(have I nicked that link? You bet I have… Sorry! Oh, and click through to it, don’t right click as I’m not hosting it!)

J.

One Response to “the wisdom of josh homme.”

  1. Petra said

    It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad
    that you simply shared this useful info with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

