mind over time…

August 20, 2007

interpol, koko


INTERPOL are a very emotive band.

There’s no doubt about that in my mind; Turn on the Bright Lights, Antics and now Our Love to Admire are all filled with songs of loss, love, joy, aggression… well in my mind, everything’s there, I’ve played those records to death.

But unfortunately, there’s just not enough. I become desperate to hear every track with bands I love, I obsess, I hunt them down. Even hunting down obscure tracks on soundtracks to shows like Six Feet Under (Direction, it’s all right).

But why?

Because there just aren’t that many bands that can provoke reactions within me like Interpol can.

So when Love to Admire came out, the first thing I had to do was hunt down any B-sides. I found the Mammoth instrumental version, and then I heard of a song that featured as a b-side to the Japanese release of the album…

Mind Over Time
(seven days only…)

This is beautiful. It’s gorgeous, somehow even managing to get away with Jean Michel Jarre-esque synths in the background. They just enhance the song.

But what makes this song so marvellous to me is beautiful lead in and lead out. The dynamics of the song is just perfect. I think the middle section where it seems to rock out, while still pondering about the meaning, it quite sounds like Idlewild’s last title track on The Remote Part. But that’s all right, I like that song too…

It sticks with you. This song resonates in head after it’s been played. I must press repeat.

Enjoy,

J.

I will still be up by fall/I’ll still be up by fall either way/Still be up by fall/I’ll be still to hear the call either way/Street of thought/In all your bones/Hold your place and/Save your throne/Lie awake supine and golden/Wait for grace/It’s time/Mind over time/Sleight of fate/And borrowed clothes/Songs of places/No one knows/Draped in lace we all lean over/To greet the great/It’s time/Mind over time/Street of thought/In all your bones/Hold your place/And save your throne/Lie awake supine and golden/Greet the great its time/Mind over time/It’s mind over time/It’s your mind over time.

Leave a Reply

